Malaysia General Information


  • Manual application of Certificate of Origin (CO) has been phased out from 1 January 2013. All application of CO must be applied online via ePCO.
  • Online CO application of Malaysia – Australia Free Trade Agreement (MAFTA) was available from 7 January 2013.As for Malaysia – Chile Free Trade Agreement (MCFTA) and Malaysia – India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (MICECA) were available from 9 March 2013.
  • Implementation of ePermit has seen a new entry in 2013 with Ozone Protection Section of Department of Environmentbeing the latest Permit Issuance Agencies to offer Online permit application. All permits related to hydrochlorofluorocarbon (HCFC) havebeen issued by the agency effective 15 March 2013.
  • 3 new ports have successfully implemented eManifest service from 15 March 2013. The ports are TanjungBeruas in Malacca, TanjungLembung in Langkawi Kedah and Kemaman Supply Base in Terengganu. The next phase of eManifestimplementation will include ports located in Sabah and Sarawak and the roll-out is expected to complete by June 2013.
  • Awareness on ePaymentwas held on 20 February 2013 to Penang community. The session was conducted in collaboration with Royal Malaysian Customs Department - RMCD (HQ and local office) and supported by 3 major banks. A total of 155 companies which mostly are Forwarding Agents have attended the session.


  • 2007 Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) as lead agency for NSW implementation
  • 2008 Ministry of Finance (MOF) as lead agency for NSW implementation. Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) as lead agency for ASW implementation


NSW awareness program between government agencies, service provider and end-users held every quarter to update on latest development of new initiatives as well as encourage new users to participate in NSW program.

ePCO engagement session was conducted in collaboration with Federation of Malaysian Manufactures (FMM) in Kuala Lumpur and Penang offices respectively in February and March 2013. The session will be extended to other FMM branches nationwide as well as to other leading trade associations from Q2 2013.

Meanwhile, eManifest engagement session was held with the community at the respective ports that will implement eManifestthis year i.eLumut Port in Perak, Kota Kinabalu Port,SepanggarPort, Sandakan Port, Tawau Port and LahadDatu Port in Sabah as well as Labuan Port in Wilayah Persekutuan Labuan. The session will be extended to other ports in Sarawak in April 2013.

Click here for the National Single Window (NSW) Initiatives in Malaysia Document.

Updates on the implementation of National Single Window (NSW)

Malaysia NSW has been in operation since 2009 through the myTradeLink web portal. There are currently six core services under Malaysia’s NSW namely eManifest, ePCO, ePermitSTA, eDeclare, ePermit and ePayment.  To date, the six core services have been fully accessible within the country reaching out to 23 ports, 166 Customs stations, 26 permit issuance authorities, 4 permit agencies and 8 local banks.

On 1 November 2016, Malaysia entered into live data exchange in the ASW under controlled environment involving companies that have agreed to join the initiative. Starting 17 November 2016, Malaysia's live data exchange in the ASW was made available to all companies applying ATIGA Form D and e-ATIGA data has been transmitted to other exchange-ready Member States. For a better participation in the ASW live implementation, Malaysia will continue promoting the live exchange of e-ATIGA to her domestic traders. Continuous improvement and monitoring will be enhanced in the ASW Live data exchange.


Malaysia’s National Single Window (NSW) has been in operations since 2009. The NSW serves as a main gateway for trade in Malaysia and as a platform that provides an effective and economical means for traders to submit their data in electronic format through a web-based application (myTRADELINK). There are six modules in the NSW gateway as as follows:

i) electronic Customs Declaration (eDeclare);
ii) electronic Customs Duty Payment (ePayment);
iii) ¬electronic Preferential Certificate of Origin (ePCO);
iv) electronic Permit (ePermit);
v) electronic Permit Strategic Trade Act (ePermitSTA); and
vi) electronic Manifest (eManifest).

To-date, 30 Permit Issuing Agencies (PIAs), 50 authorities and 12 banks collaborate with the NSW.

Recent enhancement and updates related to the NSW include:

• eManifest: Migration of the current system to the new platform to all communities completed in December 2017. All users using the eManifest service are currently enjoying added features, more stable and enhanced performance.

• ePermit - MITI Approved Permit (AP): Implementation of paperless permit application for vehicles covering 4 main permit categories namely Franchise, Non-Franchise, Heavy Machineries and Other Vehicles. Since 2 February 2017, vehicle AP holders permit applications goes through system.

• ePermit - SIRIM: Since 1 April 2017, users of ePermit SIRIM can pay their permit/certification fees through ePermit online payment. SIRIM also introduced Release Letter; specific for selected items without permit.

• ePermit STA: Since 4 September 2017, all applicants are required to re-register product category code in the Pre-Registration Module, in accordance with the Strategic Trade (Strategic Items) (Amendments) Order 2017 [P.U. (A) 90/2017].

Status of ASEAN Single Window (ASW) Live Operation

Malaysia, together with the other exchange ready Member States, entered into ASW live operation on 1 January 2018. Registered exporters are able to apply for e-Form D ATIGA through the NSW-ePCO system. Prior to transiting into live operation, several outreach sessions were organized to explain to our exporters about the implementation of this initiative through the NSW-ePCO. Notices and information about the ASW Live Operation of eForm D ATIGA have also been uploaded in the NSW and relevant websites.


The ASEAN Secretariat shall not be held liable for any omissions or inaccuracies in the content of this website. It shall not accept any liability for any claims, loss or expenses that may arise or arising from use of information from this website. Reliance on the information is at the reader’s/user/s sole risk/responsibility. Read Full Version

This website is best viewed with Internet Explorer 8 and above, or the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Opera browser on 1024x768 display resolution